Seafront Bread Shop: A Review Of Their Menu

Seafront Bread Shop at Kalibo, Aklan

We found this quaint little restaurant one humid afternoon of June 16, 2009 while in search for the best bulalo meal in Kalibo, Aklan. It wasn’t our intention to try their menu but we have no other choice but to do so. The restaurant’s name is inappropriate for its location, it’s not located anywhere near the sea nor is it located in a seafront. I’m really not sure why the owner thought of naming it Seafront Bread Shop. Probably it’s just a branch and the main restaurant might have been located in a seafront somewhere in Caticlan or Boracay.

The interiors of the restaurant is quite fascinating. Aside from its colorful designs, the little things inside the restaurant complements the whole ambiance. There is a colorful jolly atmosphere inside the restaurant that seemed to welcome customers of every walks of life. I can say that the owner, who was a male and the cook of the restaurant, has quite a of zest for life. His jolly character is reflected pretty much in the entire place. Out of hunger and confusion, I wasn’t able to take pictures of the entire place. But the pictures below are pretty much the best of what the restaurant has.

one of the biggest light bulbs that I have seen

one of the biggest light bulbs that I have seen

jolly little figurines at the counter top

jolly little figurines at the counter top

the chairs colorful covers matched the tile work at the counter area

the chairs' colorful covers matched the tile work at the counter area

Looking at the menu, the restaurant offers a wide a variety of choices for hungry folks like me and the boys. It ranged from a choice of Filipino dishes to Italian dishes, even pizza and pasta. That’s probably why it was named so, bread shop. But I still couldn’t see where seafront fits. But anyhow, the boys had an appetizer. It was a mixture of cold cuts served with cucumber and cheese on sticks with barbecue sauce at the side. The presentation was awesome, the taste even. It made us hungry for more. And so we decided to go to the main entree. Since the boys are very hungry, Hanzel ordered patatim while Noi had something like bopis.

the appetizer consisted of assorted cold cuts with cucumber and cheese on sticks plus barbecue sauce at the side

the appetizer consisted of assorted cold cuts with cucumber and cheese on sticks plus barbecue sauce at the side

Hanzel had patatim and was also craving for Nois bopis

Hanzel had patatim and was also craving for Noi's bopis

Noi, who had bopis, is trying to guard his meal from Hanzel

meals came in a combo, iced tea at that

Noi, who had bopis, is trying to guard his meal from Hanzel

Noi, who had bopis, is trying to guard his meal from Hanzel

The boys’ meals were served first. Aboy had a sinigang na isda. I think he loves sinigang. Because he cooks great sinigang. Or probably that was the only soup dish that was served at the restaurant. As for me, I had a taste of their American dish. I had chicken and Belgian fries with cheezy dip plus a serving of rice hehehe. Just in case bitin ang Belgian fries. When batch 2 was served, all eyes popped because of the great presentation of my dish. And our noses bled because of the sinigang’s aroma. Honestly, I did wanted to have a taste of that sinigang, if not only because it was fish.

Aboys sinigang na isda

Aboy's sinigang na isda

Aboys reaction when his meal was served

Aboy's reaction when his meal was served

cheesy Belgian fries and chicken with cheesy yummy dip

cheesy Belgian fries and chicken with cheesy yummy dip

Aboys reaction when my dish was served LOL

Aboy's reaction when my dish was served LOL

and I swore to protect my dish from any adversary including Aboy

and I swore to protect my dish from any adversary including Aboy

At first I was skeptical because the chicken might not be as juicy as I wanted it to be. But it turned out that I was wrong. The chicken was cooked to perfection even the fries. It was cooked the way I wanted it to be, crispy on the outside but soft on the inside. My meal was superb. For Aboy’s sinigang, they used real tamarind  instead of the usual Knorr Sinigang Mix. I love the fact that they have used real ingredients. It felt like I was dining at home, Mama’s cooking. But then this Kalibo, Aklan. I didn’t expected that we would be able to come across a restaurant like this in the middle of nowhere. Nor did I expected that dishes are this great! The servings are enough to fill the hungry boys that I was with, meaning malaki ang servings nila. Oh di ba? Great tasting meals, great servings. What about the budget? All the meals that we had including the appetizer, 4 extra rice and the 4 bottles of small mineral water cost Php 400 only! Whoaah! A really value for money! And the verdict: thumbs up for Seafront Bread Shop! Nevermind why it was named so.

the verdict: thumbs up for Seafront Bread Shop

the verdict: thumbs up for Seafront Bread Shop

One comment on “Seafront Bread Shop: A Review Of Their Menu

Leave a Reply

